Sunday, March 28, 2004
Anybody really know what time it is?
It continued to snow all day yesterday and was still snowing at bedtime. We did manage to make a mini trip outside after dinner, while it was still light, to bring the last trash bag out. Skip was happy to be going outdoors and was singing all the way down the stairs but when we stepped out into the blustery cold & steady snow, he was taken back…He couldn’t figure out the white stuff hitting his face and wasn’t sure he liked the wind that kept making him hold his breath, but he figured he would give it a shot. He did, and he found it wasn’t so bad – kinda neat actually. The snowflakes mesmerized him and the sensation of hitting his tiny little face amused him and by the time we made our way back from the dumpster, he was enjoying himself. There were lots of children playing in the center courtyard and teenagers hanging around in small groups. Adults were few and far between. We sat out on the front steps for a minute and Skip listened to all the sounds from the children. We took a few pictures of Skip sitting in a snow pile, but then decided we’d had enough and headed back into the heat of the building.The morning light today revealed that the City of Angarsk is once again a white blanket. The snow fell into the night and covers everything once more. It also provided extra light for Skip this morning,. Encouraging him to open his eyes by 6:15…He then spent the next 45 minutes subtly trying to get his lazy Mama to open her eyes as well. First he tried to awaken me by tossing his socks and blanket at me – to no avail. After regrouping he came after her with a trick he used successfully a few days ago – stealing my blanket. His mama is a step ahead of him in that department now, and tucks it in VERY SECURELY at the foot of the bed and on the side and this time his attempt is unsuccessful…Down but not out, he tries singing to wake me up, but I just puts the pillow over my head, disappointing Skip…And then he gave it one last try – a masterful plan indeed – He simply stood in his crib as close to me as he could possibly get, leaned over the top edge to monitor his efforts, and let go…Yep, one REALLY STINKY DIAPER right near my sleepy face. 4 seconds was all it took for me to realize what he had just done and I was up and out of bed! “Yippee, a secret weapon for my arsenal” Skip thought to himself… “Okay, I’m FULLY awake now, thank you Skip J” I told him as I headed for the living room, and cleaner air…With diaper changed and bottled warmed, we crawled back into bed and snuggled. Skip was even convinced he was still tired and he dozed back to sleep, giving me a few more minutes to be lazy. He woke fully charged about 40 minutes later to find me watching a DVD in bed – the same one I have been trying to finish for 2 days. He was happy to join me for awhile but then decided he’d had enough….so much for a lazy morning.We played, ate, and tidied up and then Papa called to say Good Morning. Even though I have been teaching Skip to say “Papa”, he didn’t feel like saying it on the phone to him…He did point at the ceiling though when Mama asked him where the light was – I don’t think it had the same affect for Papa…. Skip used the opportunity while Mama was distracted with Papa, to get into the kitchen cabinet, and the bedroom dresser, and emptied the contents…He was not persuaded to put them back in, but I thought about it and decided not to pick them up…he’s going to do the same thing again later.Since the thermometer said -6 Celsius, we figured we would sacrifice our sled/walk and stayed indoors, coloring and building. We had soup for lunch, which Skip enjoyed very much. Something about freezing cold weather and a warm bowl of soup…Irina came to visit right after lunch, and surprised us when she said the clock was wrong. We couldn’t figure out how, but then she explained it was Daylight Savings last nite, and that it wasn’t 1:30, it was 2:30…I thought “Great, another time change to adapt to” and Skip thought, “Hey, I’m a whole hole closer to naptime at 3:00 – no fair!”Since Boris is going to court tomorrow to see the judge and AGAIN try and get dates, Irina asked me some questions while Skip watched his Ernie DVD from his stroller. She was surprised to see how he watches intently, and interacts, even laughing at silly parts. She played with Skip, too before she left and then got all bundled up again and headed out – she has a 25 minute walk to her apt and it wasn’t getting any warmer outside.. Skip wasn’t thrilled when I told him it was naptime since it was already 3:30 but he went, playing and talking for 30 minutes before finally falling asleep. I stretched out on the couch and fell asleep after 5 minutes of the same movie I had on this morning. At this rate, it will take me the entire stay here to finish it… One thing is for sure, Skip will be totally recharged when he wakes and ready to have more fun so I’ll have to live with the fact that movies may take me a lot longer to watch than they used to…I can deal with that – I just hope there aren’t any more time changes I don’t know about yet…
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment
Go ahead, leave a message!